The city is also well known for its diamond-cutting industry. The majority of Belgians are Roman Catholic, but regular attendance at religious services is variable. The Provincial Councils (Dutch: Provincieraad; French: Conseil provincial) are the representative bodies of the population of the provinces. The 1981 state reform transferred some matters from the federal Belgian level to the communities. The country of Belgium is divided into three regions. Upvote(0) How satisfied are you with the answer? See how many of these top 30 Belgian facts you know. Be on the lookout for your Britannica newsletter to get trusted stories delivered right to your inbox. Before 1994, the provincial elections instead coincided with the national elections. Legislation regarding the Governor and Vice-Governor of Brussels-Capital, and the Deputy Governor of Flemish Brabant, has also remained a federal competency. Visitors can see Napoleon’s and other war artifacts at the site today. Louvain (Flemish: Leuven), about 16 miles (26 km) east of Brussels, is the site of the Catholic University of Louvain (founded 1425), the first university to be established in the Low Countries. Which amount to some 57.8 percent for the highest earners, according to the CGI report, which ranked Belgium’s tax rates as fourth highest in Europe after France (66.6 percent), Italy and Spain, while OECD ranks Belgium third highest for tax rates out of its 34 members. Namur (Flemish: Namen), an ancient city that expanded significantly with industrialization, is the capital of the administrative region of Wallonia. In 1839, as part of the Treaty of London, half of the province of Limburg became part of the Netherlands, which consequently has its own province of Limburg. The executive branch was previously called the Permanent Deputation. (2012) Answer: Community government. Following the Fifth State Reform, the responsibility for the provincial institutions was devolved to the Regions. D. Panchayats. Until then, the provincial councils also appointed Provincial Senators to the Belgian Senate. [8], Because the German-speaking Community is located entirely within the province of Liège, it has been proposed on multiple occasions to create an eleventh province, the Province of Eupen-Sankt Vith, which would comprise the nine municipalities of the German-speaking Community. Share 0. Question 4. Foreign-born residents make up less than one-tenth of the population. It is still the tallest building in Antwerp today at around 96m (26 floors).The art-deco edifice, now known as Boerentoren or KBC Tower, was the tallest building on the continent until 1940 when Terazza Martini Tower opened in Genoa, Italy. Test your Belgian knowledge with these top 30 Belgian facts – did you know the Big Bang theory and the game of cricket originated in Belgium? When these territories were annexed by France in 1795, they were reorganised into départments; the borders were redrawn and the historical names were replaced by names of geographical features (generally the main river of the area).